We recently took part in the Heritage Open Days, England's biggest festival of history and culture involving over 40,000 volunteers. Every year over four days in September, thousands of events across the country invite people in to explore local treasures of every age, style and function.
Michael and Kitty spent the day at the Cable Hut and met over 350 people who were thrilled to be able to experience this historic structure! "Our visitors included many local people who had passed by many times and never knew the intriguing history of the little building", said Michael Ann, whose father acquired and restored the ruin in order to house his fishing equipment. We had well over 350 visitors over four days from all over England and many from abroad who come to Cuckmere Haven, regarded by many as 'the most beautiful view in England, if not the world'. Comments include: "A slice of history" (a visitor from Bexhill), "very informative - a real discovery" (from Lichfield), "Great to learn the history of this beautiful place", (from Taiwan).
The Cable Hut was built in 1911 as a telegraph relay station between London and France. The cables were cut during WWII and the hut turned into a gun emplacement. It was damaged having been used as target practice by the Canadian troops. It was restored in 1947 and has been used as as a fishing hut. The hut is located in the Seaford Head Nature Reserve at Cuckmere Haven just below the iconic coastguard cottages built in the mid 1800s. It is surrounded by gun pill boxes and close by is a memorial to the Canadian troops.